Gisela Prishker – OC, California

1 12 2007

Gisela Prishker’s slogan is “Sensual, Striking, Fashionable” and she definitely lives up to all three. Gisela’s interest in photography began when she was only 14 and she has become an accomplished photographer in the fields of editorial, wedding, portrait and fashion. Gisela’s first language is Spanish and she is an avid member of Foro de Fotografos.

Gisela’s website
Gisela’s blog

How do you keep yourself motivated & your photography fresh?
I am always motivated by my family, friends , love & new places and I do visit galleries, museums and love driving around getting lost and I let my mind fly. I keep my photography fresh by doing what I am most passionate about Photography. I test a lot, I try a new lens every time I have a shoot, I always try something new, I do break the rules all the time and love it. Something very funny happened to me last week I gave a talk in LA for Professional Photographers there and I saw everyone motivated and inspired by my talk so I got home and I couldn’t sleep in stayed up until 5am , doing work , networking, reading and some more work , so I realized I got inspired by myself I thought that was too funny. Those who know me know I am so hyper and a bit crazy.

What (or who) has inspired, & continues to inspire, your work?
I fell in love with photography at a very young age 14 and since then I knew I wanted to be a photographer like MaryEllen Mark or Anne Leibowitz or a great Artist like Frida Kahlo, so I guess Im very inspired by Frida Kahlo’s life , I also get inspired when I travel, my favorite place to be in Naples thats why I go 6 times a year I cant stop loving it, I love California too and feel very inspired here.

What do you say or do to put your clients at ease in front of the camera?
Be yourself , have fun and get crazy no one is watching you , just me. I make them run , walk ,sing & laugh. My shoots are so much fun I get crazy when I am working I feel the glow in my eyes. I just love what I do and people feel that. I guess Im not afraid to fall in love with my subject , they know how passionate I am. That’s why they hire me.

What was it that first drew you to take up photography?
I was a model and won Miss Photogenic in a pageant but those pic where horrible so I said I bet I can take better picture so I did start taking pictures with a point & shoot camera and they were better , so in High School i took a Photography class and then got my first Pentax K 1000. I love that camera , and the dark room and all that good stuff , so I started shooting at lunch time , my studio was The ladies Restroom yeah my shoots started at $40’s. That was great time testing models and making money and doing what I loved so everyone that sees me know they ask so Are you still a model? or you became a photographer? All the people that knew me then know what I most passionate about.

What advice do you have for other photographers that are stuck in a rut creatively or with their business?
Have fun doing what you love , if you do what you love and feel passionate about it money will come. It’s all about enjoying life to the fullest doing what you truly love. I will say be yourself, don’t try to copy someone else. Each individual is so unique. Don’t be afraid to be different & take risks. Business wise Im still learning about it but the best thing i do is to create a good buzzzzzz. Wowwww people with your work. Word of mouth is your best advertising. I have only been here in California a month and I had several shots already, not bad for being new to the area.

One way you market your business.
I keep it simple word of mouth, attending to net working events, and keeping good relationships with other photographers.

One thing your client should know about you. One thing we should know about you
I am driven by passion I do photography because its my first love, I love Red and love tacos , If you hire me for sure we will become great friends its all about the connection, I love making people feel great, laugh and have fun. I’m so fascinated with my life yes I guess I love myself too much, I’m imperfect.

If you were planning on having a photo-shoot, who would you want to photograph your portrait & why?
Anne Leivowitz, she is great, or Robert Morrell. He knows me well and i adore him, who wil shoot my future videos? Hakim Sons Film – I love Shezad he is awesome.

Actions

Information

7 responses

1 12 2007
Rodolfo Arpia

Gisela is not only an awesome photographer but also a great person and I’m very lucky to call her my friend.
BTW, that angel photo is one of my favorites.
Rock on!

1 12 2007
Magaly Gisel

hola GIsela !!!
mil felicidades por tu entrevista esta genial ..eres grande amiga! y te mereces todo esto eres super talentosa … con el tiempo que te he conocido en
el foro se que eres una persona con un corazón enorme eres una chica que
a pesar de tu corta edad as llegado muy lejos…. en horabuena amiga!! adelante y sigue triunfando que te mereces lo mejor de lo mejor ….

te lo escribe en español que se escucha mas rico jajaja

un abrazo gigante!!!

1 12 2007
erick pozos

Congratulations Gisela… you ROCK! … great and sexy!! images… cheers..

2 12 2007
Joseph

Wow, that is so cool! Congratulations on getting such
positive feedback about your work. Not only are you
very attractive, but you’re talented too! What a
combo! Joseph

4 12 2007
Melina and Joe

Gisela you are an amazing and very talented photographer! Your ability to connect with people and make them feel comfortable is very essential, and it shows in the quality of your work. For example, my boyfriend Joe, had never experienced any kind of modeling in front of a camera and you made him feel so natural, comfortable with himself, and showed him how to have fun with it. The experience is so delightful, we can feel your passion and love in whatever you believe in. These are all the emotions I felt from just being around you, while working and hanging out as friends. Gisela you have a vibrant personality and it shows at all times. You are one of the few people I know with such a great heart, genuine and with a wonderful perspective of life in general. I have worked with other photographers, and I can say that I have enjoyed and have been the most satisfied with you! You are the type of person who will succeed all the way in whatever you set your heart and mind to. Joe and I are so happy to have met you; not only we have met such a brilliant photographer, but we also feel that most importantly, we have met and gained a great friend. You have excellent interpersonal social skills, which is a really important characteristic in a person. We wish you all the goodness you deserve and a fruitful and prosperous career doing what you love best, PHOTOGRAPHY. Keep using your artistic, creative eye and it will take you to more magical places! Congratulations, sky is the limit for you, so keep going sweetheart! We send you our love and support always,
Melina and Joe

10 12 2007
Christian

Gisela has an eye for beauty that very few have–if any. It always takes talent to visualize in advance what a shot is going to look like, how the colours and contrast will blend. This clearly shows in her work and her pictures are of a daring and sensual nature–I find it exceptional., if not extraordinary. Gisela gathered incredible experience throughout the years and being a self-made photographer who went from zero to hero, she produces electrifying images that make you gasp for air.

–Christian

13 12 2007
Yadira and Carlos

Gisela, Let me start off by saying you are the best at what you do! We had to much fun in our shoot and the pictures are absolutely amazing, the way you make people connect with the camera and feel comfortable is one of a kind. I was amazed at how you got my boyfriend to loosen up and be natural even though he has never done any kind of modeling and I don’t think he ever thought it was going to be that fun. I know you are going to go very far in life because you truly do have a passion for what you do, I look forward to working with you again in the future and wish you the best in your career. I see you doing big things in the future and you have earned it! Love, Yadira and Carlos.

Leave a Reply

